Nattering in Nerja

A little mini-blog of a lovely time spent in Nerja with my sister Sam, her Partner David and No. 2 son Ben.  Yes, there was a LOT of nattering going on – it having been four months since I had last seen them.

We were delighted when Sam managed to get a great deal on an all-inclusive break to Spain and the location, just 40 km north of Malaga, meant we could meet up with them.

DSC_0029They were staying a little way out of the main town in a large hotel called Marinas de Nerja.  Steve and I had checked the location on Google Earth and there seemed to be a large over-flow car park area to the right of the hotel where we could potentially park up.  Having made an advance call to explain the situation we turned up around lunchtime in Big Bird and spoke to the Reception staff.  They had absolutely no problems with us parking anywhere we wanted, so we opted for the rougher ground we had seen.  A great choice, tucked around the side of the hotel a huge expanse of weed-covered shingle all to ourselves.  Views straight out to the beach, about 100 yards away and a little corral of ponies to the side to boot.  Plus it was free.  Awesome.  The only problem we had during our 3 night stay is that we could be seen from the road and we had to explain to four other motorhomers wanting to stay at this great spot, that they had best discuss it with the hotel staff first.  None did.  Their loss.

I am thankful for my sister’s sake that we were blessed with lovely weather whilst we were all together.  Our first day together Steve took Ben on the back of Fuddy and I got the shuttle bus with Sam and David into Nerja town.

DSC_0075Nerja means rich water.  In Moorish rule was small town surrounded by orchards fed by river Chillar which was then navigable.  The town is larger than I expected.  The usual format of a new town married with an old town with typically cobbled small streets.

Nerja has a long history going back to Paleolithic times, evidenced by paintings in the Nerja caves (which we did not get time to see L).  Initially settled by the Phoenicians in 1000BC, then the Romans until 200BC.  The 7th century saw the Moorish invasion of the Iberian peninsular and it was ion under their rule that Nerja became famed for its tissue and silk products throughout the Muslim world and in the markets of Damascus.

Nerja has exactly the right dose of Tourism and normal town life.  There is a lovely promenade down to the Balcon de Europa (Balcony of Europe).  Initially constructed around 1487 as a fortified castle.  It’s original name, La Bateria, refers to the gun battery which existed there in a fortified tower.  Destroyed during the Peninsular war, it is now a lovely viewing point, affording stunning views of the sea an surrounding mountains.

DSC_0026  On Balcon de Europa

The Promenade is lined with smart restaurants and bars interspersed with little typical Tourist post-card and nic-nac shops.  Locals and tourists alike sit on the plentiful benches and stroll around.  The packed and pretty side streets are full of all manner shops where many an hour could be spent just mooching and browsing.

DSC_0059 DSC_0055

There are not many historical buildings but the main town church, The Church of Our Saviour, completed in 1697 is pretty, located just off the main promenade.  It’s bell tower was built later in 1724 after finding an architectural solution to reposition the holy water font, now under the Choir stalls, positioned using the central column of the bell tower as its axis.

Steve and Ben unfortunately got hopelessly lost in the one way systems of Nerja and were late meeting us at the Tourist Information Office so Sam, David and I sat drinking coffee in the sun in the lovely pedestrianized, palm tree lined promenade until a rather frazzled Steve and Ben arrived.  We spent a couple of hours getting to know the place before the three of us walked back to the hotel, Steve and Ben whizzing past us on Fuddy as we passed the small donkey sanctuary (well, okay, putterring past!).

DSC_0034Back at the hotel we all took advantage of the beautiful afternoon weather and sat pool-side, working our jaw muscles catching up and soaking up the sun.  Ben and Steve braved the sea – but only just – it is still freezing!  My toe ventured into the lovely azure blue pool – but it was extricated pretty smartly – that was cold too!  Ben also thrashed me at table-tennis.  Steve and I also went and had a sneaky long, hot shower in Sam’s hotel room – thanks Sam – awesome!

Ben dashing back out of the sea!

.

DSC_0033  The nearest Sam got to the pool!

The next day Steve and I cycled with Ben into town.  Sam hired Ben a cycle but it was fixed gear and in dire need of a damn good service.  Ben never complained though, even when we hit a couple of good hills.  We explored a bit further on the cycles, spent some time skipping stones on the small beach in town and watching a few local boys practice some impressive acrobatic moves.

DSC_0048 Three Go On An Adventure..

We ate in the hotel two nights, buying tickets for the huge nightly buffet meal.  4 for the price of 3 on the tickets so the meal, including drinks worked out at EUR11.25 per head and as we were not paying to camp, suited out budget well.  The food was plentiful, varied, well cooked and well presented.  It was such a treat not having to cook.  Our first night, after rather too much to eat, was spent drinking (a tad too much) and chatting in the comfy seating area of the hotel foyer (the bar being rather full and loud). The second evening we all sat up at a table, again in the foyer, and David taught us how to play a new, rather addictive card game.  I’m not putting its name in here as it is rude!

But all too soon it was time for us to move on.  Granada beckoned, though Steve asked me several times if I REALLY wanted to go there as the weather forecast was for 8-10 degrees Celsius rather than the twenty-somethings we were enjoying in Nerja.  We left Sam, David and Ben to enjoy the rest of their break without us bending their ears about all our travels and gave them a comfortable sofa-ride in Big Bird into town before we headed for the dual carriageways and the mountains.

DSC_0086

It was so lovely to catch up with family.  Steve and I make sure we regularly call home to all our family and friends but nothing can surpass actually getting together and catching up.  We do miss everyone so, but we are still absolutely loving “Living The Dream” and hope to continue to do so for a good while yet.

16 thoughts on “Nattering in Nerja

  1. Ahhhh still loving the updates 🙂 glad ur loving living the dream too ….. Hopefully u ll come see us in Majorca maybe for a catch up some nice food and some great mojitos! Lots of love us xxxx

    • Hi Andy
      Yes, I should mention these in my blog. The best thing we ever did! They work absolutely brilliantly. Even on dull days we still have full batteries and the inverter, whilst not quite powerful enough to run my little hoover for Big Bird, is ample to keep our netpads, my laptop, our phones, my camera batteries all fully charged. Steve no longer jumps out of bed every morning to check if we have enough juice in the batteries to allow the heating to go on – it’s awesome! Thanks for asking! 🙂 Yes, we do need heating sometimes in the morning BTW – in Granada we had a frost! Yurgh.

  2. Hey! I understand this iss sort of off-topic but I needed to ask.
    Does managing a well-established log like yours require a large amount of work?
    I am brand new to running a bpog however I do write in my journal every
    day. I’d like to start a blog so I can easily share my personal experience and thoughts online.
    Please let me know if you hhave any suggestions or tips for brasnd new
    aspiring bloggers. Appreciate it!

    • Hi there. Many thanks for the compliments on my blog. I too keep a daily journal where I write more details than go into my blog. I then pick the best bits for the actual blog and always try to pop in any little anecdotes or funnies to lighten the blog if possible. I like to use a lot of photos but if you do not reduce them they take a lot of space. I downloaded the free software Caesium which can simply reduce pics down a lot but keep resolution. My blogs to date a lot of time to write and I do try and research history and information if nothing is forthcoming from the actual venues or Tourist Offices. This internet searching takes more time but I have had most favourable comments regarding the information I add and it also gives me great insight into where I have been too. Above all, even if it takes hours to produce a blog, ensure you enjoy doing it and it does not become a chore. Best of luck!

    • Thanks so much! Such a nice response, I am glad you are enjoying it. I enjoy experiencing it all, writing, researching and posting it too! New blog to following tomorrow – we are in a very hot Southern France right now.

  3. This design is steller! You most certainly
    know how to keep a reader entertained. Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start my
    own blog (well, almost…HaHa!) Great job. I really enjoyed what you had to say, and more than that, how you presented it.
    Too cool!

  4. What i do not understood is in fact how you are no
    longer really much more smartly-liked than you may be right now.
    You are very intelligent. You understand therefore significantly on the
    subject of this subject, produced me in my opinion consider it from numerous
    varied angles. Its like women and men don’t seem to be involved except it is one thing to accomplish with Woman gaga!
    Your individual stuffs nice. All the time maintain it up!

    • Hi there! Thank you so much for your lovely comments. So sorry this has taken a time to reply. Travelling causes problems with the internet and also I have had server issues. I hope you continue to enjoy my blog. With kind regards. Lyssa

  5. I like the valuable information you provide in your articles.
    I will bookmark your weblog and check again here frequently.
    I am quite sure I’ll learn a lot of new stuff right here!
    Best of luck for the next!

Leave a comment